2012 Nobel Prize in Physics: Quantum Mechanics of Photons and Atoms

2012 nobel prize in physics recipientsThe APS congratulates Serge Haroche and David Wineland, both Fellows of the APS, for their 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics. They and their collaborators have made significant advances in the realization of quantum phenomena with many beautiful experiments. Their ability to manipulate atoms and photons to demonstrate fundamental aspects of quantum physics has been documented in many journal articles. We are very pleased that much of this seminal work has been published in the APS journals: Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A, and Reviews of Modern Physics. To honor these laureates and their collaborators, we have made freely available five of their many APS publications that demonstrate some of the key insights of their pioneering work. Please see also the full APS press release.

Selected APS journal articles that are Free To Read:

Further information:

Sign up to receive regular email alerts from Physical Review Journals

Log In



Article Lookup

Paste a citation or DOI

Enter a citation